AC: Nondiscrimination

The Melrose Public Schools have the responsibility to overcome, insofar as possible, any barriers that prevent students from achieving their potential. The Committee’s commitment to the community at large is affirmed by declaring its intent to:

  1. Promote the rights and responsibilities of all individuals as set forth in the Constitution of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and the U.S. Constitutions, pertinent legislation, and applicable judicial interpretations.
  2. Encourage positive experiences in human values for children, youth, and adults, all of whom have differing personal and family characteristics and who come from various socioeconomic, racial, and ethnic groups.
  3. Work toward a more integrated society and to enlist the support of individuals as well as groups and agencies, both private and governmental, in such an effort.
  4. Use all appropriate communication and action techniques to air and reduce the grievances of individuals and groups.
  5. Carefully consider, in all district decisions, the potential benefits or adverse consequences that those decisions might have on the human relations aspect of all segments of society.
  6. Initiate a process of reviewing policies and practices of the school system in order to achieve the objectives of this statement to the greatest extent possible.

The Committee’s policy of nondiscrimination will extend to students, staff, the general public, and individuals with whom it does business. No person will be excluded from or discriminated against in admission to a Melrose Public School or in obtaining the advantages, privileges, and courses of study of such public school on account of age, race, color, sex, gender identity, religion, national origin, sexual orientation, or disability. If someone feels that he or she has been discriminated against because of age, race, color, sex, gender identity, religion, national origin, sexual orientation, or disability, their complaint should be registered with the Title IX Compliance Officer.

MSC first vote: 7/9/13

MSC second vote: 7/23/13